Thoughts on Graduation and (kinda) Growing Up

Posted: April 30, 2013 in Weekly Blog Posts

It has been four years in the making, but I’m about to graduate college. Let me just say this, don’t EVER dismiss the difficulty of gaining a degree. I will always salute someone who has one. It has not been easy to do in four years. Not easy mentally, emotionally, or physially. Consider this: After two years, I decided I wanted to be a career firefighter, which had little to do with social studies education. So, I changed my major to history- also, very little to do with the fire service. However, I’ve done it, I finished it and can almost say I have that piece of paper that says Bachelor of Science in History from Indiana State University. You betcha I’ll frame that thing and hang it over my mantle.

Luckily, I had a few people make me stay with it. My dear mother, grandma, and future Mrs. Seymour made me do it, and for that, I thank them. In four years, I’ve moved from home into a firehouse, lived at said firehouse for three years, been engaged, been hired as a part-time firefighter 100 miles away, gone through full-time processes, been promoted at my home department, been to 18 MLB ballparks, and stayed full-time at Indiana State, all while maintaining some sort of sanity.

It has been helluva four years, perhaps the best four of my twenty-two years. Not perhaps, definitely the best four. I’m getting married in a month and a half, and will be embarking on the next chapter. However weird it is to say, I’ll be out of college. Hell, I think I might even miss Indiana State… only part of it. Now I have to go present my last final and work on independent study class due in May. Not quite over, but I can smell it.

All I can say now is bring it on world, Mrs. Seymour and I are ready.

I may be off my rocker, but I doubt it.

Thanks for reading,

Levi.

 

Growing Up

 

 

Comments
  1. Mom says:

    Oh man, I love this kid!

Leave a Reply

