It’s a Brotherhood

Posted: March 5, 2013 in Weekly Blog Posts

We’ve been watching Together: The Hendrick Motorsports Story in my Survey of Motorsports class at Indiana State. Its a touching story, one focused on family and treating people right. The toughest part was the segment when Ricky Hendrick and nine others passed away in a plane crash in October 2004. The grief felt by the whole race team (Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Brian Vickers, etc) was tremendous. It made me think about the brotherhood aspect of racing, and the brotherhood aspect of my profession. 

On March 4, 2013, we lost a brother at work. I’ve only been on the job a few months, but that has been long enough to shake a lot of hands and work with just about the whole department. I met Cody, and I talked with Cody at length about mostly sports and pop culture. You know there are those people that you think, ” I can probably connect with this dude pretty easily.” Cody was certainly one of those guys. Its sad. 

I imagine I’m going to see the best of the fire service in the coming days. I’m going to see my brothers and sisters band together and honor Cody and his family. I’ll see guys work overtime to continue to serve the community, and relieve our brothers on A-shift. I’m going to see American flags draped over bunker gear and fire trucks with black flags waving in the wind. I’m not sure why, but John Michael Montgomery’s “Letters From Home” comes to my mind. Specifically, “Cause there ain’t nothin’ funny when a soldier cries, I just wipe my eyes…pick up my gun and get back to work.” I replace soldier with firefighter, and gun with tools.

That is what we will do. We’ll come together as brothers, and continue to pick up our tools and get to work. To honor Cody and his family. I knew Cody well enough to almost weep as I looked out the window during the Hendrick Motorsports story. This is the best of the fire service. Perhaps, other professions don’t understand. Hopefully they do. 

The fire service is the absolute greatest job in the world, and it makes my hair stand on end when I think about those that came before me to make it what it is today; a true brotherhood. To me, there is nothing quite like it. I’ll be on shift tomorrow, and it will be with a heavy heart; Rest In Eternal Peace, Cody. Amen. 

I may be off my rocker, but I doubt it. 

Thanks for reading and have a nice day, 

Levi. 

Image

Comments
  1. Mom says:

    Well said Levi.

Leave a Reply

