God Made a Farmer

Posted: February 11, 2013 in Weekly Blog Posts

Commercials are a part of the Super Bowl. If you don’t accept that point, you’re stuck in the mud. Each thirty second spot is a major contributing factor to the NFL climax consistently being the highest rated television program annually. Traditionally, beer sponsors such as Bud Light and Budweiser, and other corporate giants like Doritos steal the limelight. It is up to an individual to pick a favorite. Last year, my favorite was the Darth Vader Volkswagen spot. Personally speaking, I am more interested in the game but I am curious enough to pay attention to the commercials as well. In 2013, between the 49ers and Ravens going after each other in gameplay, I picked a favorite. 

I am many things. Among them are a Christian and country born and raised. Therefore, I could not help but appreciate the Ram pickup spot God Made a Farmer. This commercial tugged at every heartstring, and gave me the chills the minute I watched it (admittedly, on Monday afternoon as I must have been otherwise occupied as it aired originally). I have never owned a Ram pickup, my family has always used Chevy or GMC. The item being branded did not mean as much to me as the memories the slides brought to the surface.

I remember my own childhood not too awful long ago. I am only 22 years old, so merely four years removed from the Clay County Fair and 4-H. In the commercial, Paul Harvey said, “someone who can make a harness out of hay wire…so God made a farmer.” On our family farm, hay wire was referred to as baling wire or just wire. At any rate, baling wire was gold. The number of gates, fences, PVC pipe, hay racks, feed pans, and even truck parts held together by baling wire was enormous. When a normal person would buy something new, a farmer on my family farm would simply reach for wire and possibly more wire.

Paul Harvey also said, “I need somebody willing to sit up all night with a newborn colt and watch it die, then dry his eyes and say,’Maybe next year’…so God made a farmer.” My family did not have horses, but this scene was played out on a small farm in Cory, Indiana numerous nights with baby pigs and baby goats. I remember well a few nights my dad not coming home as he tended to sick hogs or a sow having trouble with a litter of pigs. Often, we would lose the runt of the litter, which was almost like dad losing his own child.

Indeed, 4-H animals almost are an extension of your family. I played high school basketball, and most nights consisted of practice after school and feeding the goats and pigs after practice. Mind you, by then it was getting dark and water lines could be frozen. Many nights, I dreaded going to the farm, but looking back I can appreciate every trip there.

I will forever have a place in my heart and soul for a farm. I love the Case tractor displayed in the commercial, the wide open spaces of a rural countryside, and the freedom to ride bikes and hike creek beds in the summer. I can only hope to one day, teach my kids the responsibility and work ethic only working on a farm can provide.

Have a great day and thanks for reading,

Levi.

 

 

 

 Image  

Credit: Elvis Kennedy via Comp Fight

Comments
  1. travella says:

    Levi, read the blog it was great and so true. However the type was too small to read. I had to open a word document and paste it then enlarge. 🙂

  2. cam9255 says:

    I agree the Dodges God Made a Farmer commercial was a touching commercial and was one of my favorite Super Bowl commercials. The commercial was catchy and easy to remember. Dodge also obviously aimed this add at farmers and country folk and I think they nailed it. I am not a Dodge fan and prefer Chevy or GMC but this commercial made me want to by a RAM.

  3. vinnie20 says:

    Levi that was a great post man I did not get to see that commercial when broke it down. When the Paul Harvey was talking I found it very depressing and sad. I think that this commercial was the longest I seen It also lost my attention. I think it brought a lot of more costumers to Dodge

  4. hdemaree says:

    Levi,
    Love the post…and all the thought that you put into it. Although I watch the Superbowl for the ads and Beyonce, it’s clear that you’re a football man. Thanks for sharing the memories, I can see that this advertisment will stick with you for a while!

  5. aaronn029 says:

    Levi I really liked your blog, I never grew up on a farm but I did work on one. And I loved this commercial, most people from the city do not understand this commercial but the individuals that are from the country or have worked in the country understand the meaning and are touched by it.

  6. kolone4 says:

    Great Blog! I completely agree with you and I thought this commercial hit hard with my Christian values as well! I think our country needs more commercials just like this and It took me for a surprise when it was a Dodge Ram Commercial.

  7. cmbessenger says:

    I enjoyed this blog because I can relate to it as well. Although I was not a farmer, I grew up in a small town and am an avid outdoorsman who has a lot of respect for how hard farmers work. I have many friends who work or have worked on a farm and I have seen it first hand.

  8. Aunt Carrie says:

    Wow, Love your blog Levi. Makes me wish my boys could’ve had more of those type experiences. Glad they had you to look up to.

  9. cschaefer2 says:

    This blog is awesome, I wish I would of read it sooner. I grew up escaping to my grandparents’ farm on most weekends. It’s a place that has taught me so much more about life than anyone could ever convey in a conversation or writing. I hope to raise my kids someday miles from city limits.

Leave a Reply

